Many Film Versions of Jane Austen

Recently, I blogged about the latest film version of a Jane Austen novel to be released. I write Austen-related adaptation, as well as contemporary and Regency era books, but many of my readers come to me via an Austen film. They see the movie/TV adaptation and become hooked on the story lines.
In fact, on, I shall be discussing the film’s language of various adaptations on the third Wednesday of each month. If this peaks your interest, I would love to talk specifics with you there.

Pride and Prejudice: A Modern Day Tale of First Impressions (2011) – Film
Jane Austen Handheld (2010) – Film based on the novel – told through a documentary-style film format
“Emma” (2009) a BBC TV mini-series
Sense and Sensibilidad (2008) – Film
“Lost in Austen” (2008) – TV mini-series that takes the main character into the novel’s pages
“Sense and Sensibility” (2008) – TV mini-series
Jane Austen Trilogy (2008) – a documentary with bibliographic intentions
Miss Austen Regrets (2008) – a made-for-TV show based on Austen’s letters
The Jane Austen Book Club (2007) – film based on the popular best-selling book
Mansfield Park (2007) – TV movie
Northanger Abbey (2007) – TV movie
Persuasion (2007) – TV movie
Becoming Jane (2007) – popular film based on Austen’s letters
Pride and Prejudice (2005) – Film
Bride and Prejudice (2004) – Indie film
Pride and Prejudice (2003) -modern adaptation film
The Real Jane Austen (2002) TV movie based on Jane Austen’s letters
Kandukondain, Kandukondain (2000) Film based on Sense and Sensibility
Mansfield Park (1998) – Film
“Wishbone”- “Pup Fiction” (1998) -an episode of the popular TV show based on Austen’s work
“Wishbone”- “Furst Impressions” (1997) – an episode of the popular TV show based on Austen’s work
“Emma” (1996) – TV movie
Emma (1996) – Film
Sense and Sensibility (1995) – Film
Persuasion (1995) – TV movie
“Pride and Prejudice” (1995) – TV mini-series
Sensibility and Sense (1990) – TV movie
Northanger Abbey (1987) -TV movie
Mansfield Park (1983) – TV mini-series
Sense and Sensibility (1981) – TV movie
Jane Austen in Manhattan (1980) – Film
“Pride and Prejudice” (1980) – TV mini-series
“Emma” (1972) – TV mini-series novel
“Novela” – “Persuasión” (1972) -TV series episode
Sense and Sensibility (1971) – TV movie
“Persuasion” (1971) -TV mini-series
“Novela” – “La abadía de Northanger” (1968) -TV series episode
“Pride and Prejudice (1967) – TV series
“Novela” – “Emma” (1967) – TV series episode
“Novela” – “Orgullo y prejuicio” (1966) -TV series episode
“Vier dochters Bennet, De” (1961) – TV mini-series based on Pride and Prejudice
Emma (1960) – TV movie
“Camera Three” (1960) – TV series based on Emma
“Persuasion” (1960) – TV mini-series
“Pride and Prejudice” (1958) – TV series
Pride and Prejudice (1958) – TV film
“General Motors Presents: Pride and Prejudice” (1958) – TV series episode
“Orgoglio e pregiudizio” (1957) – TV mini-series
“Matinee Theater: Pride and Prejudice” (1956) _ TV series episode
“Kraft Television Theatre: Emma” (1954) – TV series episode
“Pride and Prejudice” (1952) – TV mini-series
“The Philco Television Playhouse: Sense and Sensibility” (1950) – TV series episode
“The Philco Television Playhouse: Pride and Prejudice” (1949) – TV series episode
Emma (1948) -TV film
Pride and Prejudice (1940) – Film
Pride and Prejudice (1938) -TV

Jane Austen’s novels have never been out of print. It would seem that we might say the same thing of cinematic adaptations.


About Regina Jeffers

Regina Jeffers is the award-winning author of Austenesque, Regency and historical romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.